ichikawaedward is an ongoing collaborative project between artists Ichikawa Lee and Joshua Edward, est.2017 based in Naarm (Melbourne). The artists practice span mediums of sculpture, installation, performance, photography and creative writing. IchikawaEdward adopts a vast range of materials and process that employ new technologies and fabrication systems, in efforts to achieve a nuanced materiality that operates both poetically and politically.






instagram @ichikawaedward





2017 Group Exhibition 27—29 Johnston St, Fitzroy, Australia Curated by Tyson Campbell


2018 Sight Specific Installation for Pitch Music and Arts Festival

The Grampians, Australia


2018 Solo Exhibition SEVENTH GALLERY Fitzroy, Australia


2018 Group Exhibition 33 Tinning St, Brunswick, Australia Curated by IchikawaEdward


2018 Group Exhibition Margaret Lawrence Gallery Melbourne, Australia


2018 Graduate Exhibition Victorian College of The Arts Melbourne, Australia


2019 Sight Specific Installation for Proximity Melbourne Australia


2019 Installation & Panel Discussion MPavilion Melbourne, Australia Curated by

Shannon May Powell & Joshua Lynch


2019 Group Exhibition Firstdraft Sydney, Australia. Curated by Sebastian Henry–Jones


2019 Sight Specific Installation for Pitch Music and Arts Festival

The Grampians, Australia


2019 Group Exhibition Blindside Melbourne, Australia. Curated by

Bridie Lunney & James Carey


2019 Solo Exhibition c3 Gallery Melbourne, Australia


2019 Group Exhibition Bus Projects Melbourne, Australia. Curated by Latifa Elmrin


2019 Residency & Exhibition Art Biensenthal Biensenthal, Germany.



Grants & Prizes:


2018  Yara City Council Small Grants


2018 University of Melbourne Student Union Initiative Grant


2018 Shortlisted Majlis Traveling Scholarship Victorian Collage of The Arts


2018 Daniel Dorral Arts Award Excellence in Sculpture and Spatial Practice


2018 Tatana Mihulka Art Encouragement Award


2019 Yara City Council Small Grants





2017 Sculpture commissioned by Brin & Selena

© ichikawaedward 2017–2019